Yes, I cook almost nightly, but Sunday dinner holds a special place in my dinner line-up. It is the start of a crazy work week. The calm before the storm. We dine without the TV on (that is actually a house rule every meal) at the dining table. We talk about our weekend together and what we have upcoming this week.

This Sunday I made a new dish – Venison/Bison Meatloaf, wrapped in bacon, and smothered in a smokey chipotle red sauce. It was the perfect ending to a very perfect weekend of family time. I purchased the ground venison and (paleo-approved) bacon from Sprouts Farmers Market. The sauce I made up as I went – starting with simmering tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, diced dates (for added sweetness), chili powder, garlic, onion, Mrs. Dash Chipotle seasoning, smoked Spanish paprika, salt and pepper. I simmered it on the store top for about 20 minutes, then used my immersion blender to puree into a smooth sauce.

It was so delicious!! After a sad excuse for a football game…Cutler needs to go away (far away!) and a belly full of smokey bacon covered venison and bison, this gal is going to catch up on knitting and hit the hay early 🙂

Have a wonderful week!!

Sunday meatloaf

meatloaf

meatloaf dinner

