Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It has been a LONG summer in the desert. We are finally seeing temperatures below 80 degrees! I love the cooler weather…cooler temps means fuzzy socks, soft sweaters, cuddling by the fire, hiking with the dogs, cool sheets at night, and fall stews and soups!

I kicked off the fall food season by making a 5 spice pork shoulder in the slow cooker. I shredded it and put onto zucchini noodles – it hit the spot!

Pork Shoulder with zucchini noodles

Pork Shoulder with zucchini noodles

I have said before I dislike sweet, even in french fry form. Then I decided to try making as a ‘toast’ and topped with my favorite savory foods. I call it sweet potato bruschetta.

Recently I tried chicken sausage with marinara sauce and an olive tampenade with mushrooms – WOW! My trainer has been pleading with me to eat sweet potatoes on training days so I had to find a way to enjoy them.

20141102_153707

Glancing at my calendar it looks like the next 5 weekends are filled. How does that happen?! At least 2 of them are getaways with the hubby 🙂 Mexico for some beach time and camping in the cold (= lots of snuggling!). I am excited to try new foods that are in line with my new life style. In Mexico, it will be lots of fresh seafood and camping will be home-made jerky, fruit roll-ups, and recipes for the slow cooker.

I hope everyone voted today 🙂 Have a great week!