Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Day 30…

TA-DA!! I did it 🙂 Not too bad I must say. Whole30 encourages reflection on what is a ‘self-experimentation’. This daily journal has made it easier to look back and remember how bad I felt, how far I’ve come, and how far I have yet to go. So many people asked today, “now what” “what do you do after your diet” “why did you do this” …the Whole30 daily email puts it best,

“We created our “Nutrition in 60 Seconds” pitch because we needed a way to describe the way we eat to folks in a short, concise manner. So when people ask us, “What is this Paleo thing?” or “What kind of crazy diet is this Whole30?”, we have a tight, practiced response that goes like this (from the preface of It Starts With Food):

“We eat real food—fresh, natural food, like meat, vegetables, and fruit. We choose foods that are nutrient-dense, with lots of naturally occurring vitamins and minerals, over foods that have more calories but less nutrition … This is not a ‘diet’—we eat as much as we need to maintain strength, energy and a healthy body weight. We aim for well-balanced nutrition, so we eat both plants and animals … Eating like this allows us to maintain a healthy metabolism and keeps our immune system in balance.”

When a person becomes vegetarian, I don’t think they are asked these same questions from family and friends. One may question the motive to becoming a vegetarian, but I doubt people ask when it is over. People realize it is a lifestyle change, not a fad diet. That is what I am doing – a lifestyle overhaul. Nothing traumatic spurred this. Just like many state when making a change for the better, I had finally made up my mind and am sticking to this. This is for me, my husband, family and friends. Becoming a better person on the inside will come through the outside to all around me. There is no way to do this in 30 days, at least for me.

So tomorrow, I take the photos and measurements. I hold my head high and proud – I did it! I survived 30 days of real food. I will not celebrate with food (I did happen to pick up King crab legs, but only because they were on sale). I will do something for myself as a ‘pat on the back’, but I promise no more food rewards. Does this mean I have given up pizza, beer, my beloved martinis, hotdogs, etc? NO! When I really want one of those things, eventually, I will have them…or maybe I won’t.

There are no words to describe how great this has made me feel. You never can know until you do it and realize how shitty you really have been feeling for such a long time. Not only am I healthier, but I have confidence and pride because I stuck with something that started pretty rough. I could’ve quit. I could’ve said it wasn’t worth the hell. I am worth it and so I will continue my road to a healthier life.

Enough of that now 🙂

Today’s meal planning was not ideal. I had a great breakfast of over easy eggs, potatoes, and Aidell’s chicken and apple sausage. I was having blood work done in the afternoon, so I figured get a good and early breakfast in to tide me over until 3:30p. I left work early and headed to see my friend and her precious little boy, Theo. Oh, the faces that kid can make already! Below is Theo and G’mama E.

mama e

Then, I headed to the doctor. This was a new doctor / practice for me. I waited for an HOUR for the doctor, which was irritating on a VERY empty stomach. It was 4:30p and my last meal was 6:30a. Although I was hungry, still no hypoglycemia, nausea, illness like 30 days ago. After the exam the doctor tells me the blood gal left for the day. ARE YOU FRIGGIN’ KIDDING ME! I have to go to a lab after I fast AGAIN to get the labwork done. Great. I came home to feed the zoo, ate an RXBar and then went to the grocery store to get meat for jerky and food for chicken bone broth. Grocery shopping on while hungry; I know better than that! Let’s just say I got more than was on my list. I have a big pot of chicken bone broth going and my jerky is started. Tomorrow the house will smell amazing!!

I used to always carry a couple pieces of candy with me, in case I got that nauseated hunger – now I have an apple and a RXBar. Tomorrow I will post my photos and let you know the results so far. I think I will re-measure / photograph every 2 weeks to see the progress.

PhotoGrid_1408161246474

I cannot thank everyone enough for all the kind words, support, cheering, and love. I could not have done this alone. 🙂

